American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL)

American College of Trial Lawyers

According to abbreviationfinder, American College of Trial Lawyers is commonly known as ACTL. The American College of Trial Lawyers was established in 1950 in response to the growing complexity of legal matters and the need for increased specialization in the practice of law. Its mission was to elevate the standards of trial practice, promote the administration of justice, and encourage collegiality among its members. The College is composed of preeminent trial lawyers from all 50 states, Washington D.C., Puerto Rico, and Canada who have demonstrated exceptional skill as advocates and whose professional careers have been marked by the highest standards of ethical conduct, professionalism, civility, and collegiality. To become a Fellow of The American College of Trial Lawyers requires nomination by two existing members who must certify that a nominee possesses an outstanding reputation for ethical conduct as well as extraordinary skill as a trial lawyer.

In order to maintain an active membership in The American College of Trial Lawyers, Fellows must complete at least 50 hours each year participating in educational programs offered by the College or other organizations approved by the Board of Regents. These activities include: Continuing Legal Education (CLE) seminars; participation on panels discussing trial-related topics; teaching courses on trial advocacy; writing articles; and attending other conferences or symposia related to trial practice. Additionally, Fellows are expected to participate with their peers in local chapter meetings throughout the year to further foster collegiality among members.

The American College of Trial Lawyers also awards annual scholarships to law students who demonstrate excellence in their studies and an interest in pursuing a career in litigation. Each year these scholarships are awarded at The Annual Meeting held annually at different locations across North America where Fellows gather from around the world for educational programs and social events that further promote fellowship within this prestigious organization.

American College of Trial Lawyers

Admissions Statistics

The American College of Trial Lawyers is one of the most prestigious organizations for trial lawyers in the world. Established in 1950, the college has grown to more than 6,000 members in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and five Canadian provinces. The organization is dedicated to preserving and improving the standards of trial practice, professionalism and ethical conduct in the practice of law.

Admission to the college is by invitation only and requires a rigorous application process. An applicant must have been engaged in a civil or criminal trial practice for at least 15 years prior to submitting an application. In addition, applicants must submit three letters of recommendation from other members of the college as well as a statement describing their qualifications for admission into membership. Once an applicant has been approved by a local screening committee, they are presented to the college’s Board of Regents where their candidacy is discussed before they are invited to become a Fellow. All Fellows are expected to uphold high ethical standards and abide by the Rules and Regulations established by the College. These requirements ensure that only experienced lawyers who demonstrate excellence in advocacy skills are admitted into membership.

Departments and Degrees Offered

American College of Trial Lawyers offers a wide range of departments and degrees. The college has various departments such as Law, Business, Accounting, Psychology, and Political Science. Each department provides a range of courses and degree programs to meet the academic needs of students. For instance, the Law department offers undergraduate degrees such as Bachelor of Laws (LLB), Juris Doctor (JD) and Master of Laws (LLM). It also offers postgraduate degrees such as Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Legal Theory and Practice. The Business department provides Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration (BBA) and Master’s degree in Business Administration (MBA). It also provides specialized courses such as Management Consulting and Strategic Planning. The Accounting department provides courses on financial management and accounting principles. The Psychology department offers undergraduate degrees such as Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology (BS) and Master’s Degree in Psychology (MS). It also offers postgraduate courses such as Cognitive Neuroscience, Neuropsychology, Psychopharmacology, Clinical Psychology, Developmental Psychology, etc. Finally, the Political Science department provides undergraduate degrees such as Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science (BA) or Master’s Degree in Political Science (MA). It also offers postgraduate courses such as International Politics, Comparative Politics and Public Policy Analysis.


The American College of Trial Lawyers is a prestigious organization dedicated to recognizing excellence in the practice of trial law. Founded in 1950, it is comprised of preeminent trial lawyers from the United States and Canada who have achieved a high level of professional excellence and have demonstrated skill, integrity, and civility in their practice. Membership is by invitation only and members must have at least fifteen years of experience as a trial lawyer. The College recognizes three levels of membership: Fellows, Master Fellows, and Honorary Fellows.

Fellows are the primary level of membership within the College. To become a Fellow, an individual must demonstrate exceptional skill as a trial lawyer, be held in high esteem by other lawyers, judges, and members of the public for their ethical conduct and professional ability, maintain civility in their practice, participate in legal education programs or activities that advance the cause of justice or improve their skills as a trial lawyer and demonstrate good character by adhering to the highest standards of professional responsibility.

Master Fellows are those individuals who have achieved extraordinary accomplishments involving skill as a trial lawyer or contributions to advancements in education or improvements in law reform. They must also demonstrate significant public service activities that benefit society at large or organizations dedicated to improving access to justice for all citizens. Finally, they must be recognized for having achieved recognition on both a regional and national level for their skills as an attorney advocate.

Honorary Fellows are individuals who have been nominated by two-thirds vote of all living Fellows based on extraordinary contributions made to either improve access to justice or enhance the administration of justice generally throughout North America or both. Such contributions may include involvement with pro bono legal services programs; legal reform efforts; teaching; writing; judicial appointments; advocacy before appellate courts; bar association leadership positions; work with organizations dedicated to improving access to justice; public service activities that benefit society at large; mentoring younger attorneys; or other similar activities which demonstrate dedication to enhancing our legal system.